Berkeley County Assessor's Office

West Virginia DMV On-line Vehicle Registration Renewal (Click Here)

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL BERKELEY COUNTY RESIDENTS!!!!



Questions regarding unregistered vehicles, please call the Berkeley County Assessor's Office at: 304-267-5098 (M-F) 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

WV Code Chapter 17A, Article 3, Section 1a(a) requires "Every owner of a motor vehicle, trailer or other vehicle, shall, within thirty days after taking up residence in the state, apply to the division and obtain registration and title for the vehicle." Code Reference
You are considered a resident if any ONE of the following apply:


1- You are registered to vote in WV; or
2- You have a child(ren) enrolled in a public elementary or secondary school in WV; or
3- You are receiving public assistance from WV; or
4- You have resided or have continuously remained in WV for a period exceeding 30 days, except for infrequent or brief absences; or
5- You have filed for a Homestead tax exemption in WV.


WV Code Chapter 17A, Article 3, Section 1(b) defines the penalty for failure to properly register your vehicle as a misdemeanor. First conviction fine shall not exceed $500; Second and subsequent conviction fine shall not exceed $500 and/or confinement of six (6) months in county or regional jail. Code Reference

WV Code Chapter 17A, Article 3, Section 3b requires the assessor to make verification of vehicles believed illegally unregistered !!!! Code Reference



Berkeley County Assessor's personel will be looking for Berkeley County residents with vehicles that are not legally registered in the State of West Virginia and not paying personal property taxes!!!!